Summer Rockets take Senior Babe Ruth Crown in Epic Fashion

Posted by Reading Babe Ruth on Aug 18 2019 at 04:09PM PDT in 2019 Spring/Summer

The RBRL Summer Rockets won the first outright MSBRL title in RBRL history with an epic run out of the losers bracket.
The team was forced to win six straight games in 6 days after losing the opener of the double elimination tournament in 9 innings to Lexington and Graham Seed..
They accomplished this by beating older teams (20U league) from Woburn, Medford, Cambridge (#1 seed), Lexington and twice versus the Malden Marlins.
The Summer Rockets featured players returning to HS next year. Their opponents rosters included graduated players and some with freshman/sophomores in college and many of the teams have players from 2 or more towns essentially AAU teams .
The pitching of Connor Duggan, Tim Sahagian, Pat Harrigan, and Chris Shin led the way as they accounted for 42 of the 50 pitched innings.
Cole Tully had 15 RBI and hit .500 in the tournament.

Regulars: Dan Weston, Cole Tully, Tim Sahagian, Logan Nowicki, Timmy Ryan, Matt Koury, Alex Dean, Steven Webb, Nick Marshall, Connor Duggan, Cullen McCadden, Charlie Presho, Pat Harrigan, Chris Shin

Alternates: Brian Marshall, Andrew Croteau, Nate Heithaus, Mike DiPietro, Anthony Picano, Billy Beneke

Coaches: Dave Clivio, Kevin McCadden, Pat Barbera

Contributors: Brian Nowicki, Dan Webb, Greg Sahagian, Patrice Kwet


There are no comments for this announcement.