Angels vs. Padres 6-18-21 at Morton Field

READING- For the first time in 8 years the RBRL World Series the champion was decided in two games as the Padres franchise became first-time champions with a come from behind 8-5 victory over the Angels on Friday evening.

The difference in the series came down to the big hits and in both games the Padres had the clear advantage in that category.

On Friday it looked like it was going to be the Angels day as they went ahead early and did not fall behind through the first five innings.

But in the top of the sixth the eventual champs pulled ahead with a strong hitting rally to bring home the much sought after RBRL crown.

Down 5-3 the winning rally started when lead-off hitter James Marcotte singled off Angels closer Johnny Tighe which was only the Padres second hit of the game.

Hits followed by Ryan Marino and Leo Gosdanian which brought home a run.

Marino then trotted home on a wild pitch that tied the game at 5-5.

After a walk by Nicky Bartalini, the winning run scored on a Tyler Alberto single.

Jack Aborn provided a cushion with an RBI single and he eventually scored the fifth run of the inning on a fielder's choice.

Bartalini took over on the mound and closed out the Series in his two inning save by striking out three batters and not allowing a hit.

Earlier in the game the Angels put pressure on the Padres by putting multiple base runners on each of the first four innings.

In the first inning Tighe scored on an infield error after singling to start the inning.

But as was the pattern all Series the Angels left two runners on-base (12 for the game) and the feel was that the inning was a bit of squander with the top half of the order not delivering multiple runs.

After the Padres tied the game in the second inning the Angels bottom half of the order knocked starter Aborn out the game with three hits.

The hits were delivered by Andrew Pucci, Kyle Koster and Shane Stuart and a critical infield throwing error on Cole Morrow's grounder with two outs brought home two unearned runs.

The Padres erased the 3-1 lead with single runs in the third and fourth innings without the benefit of a hit as the Angels struggled in the field making three errors.

The Padres gave the lead right back in the fourth on an error of their own after Mike Wondolowski singled to start the inning.

After a shut-down fifth inning thrown by Joe Ciccariello the Angels were poised to take a commanding lead in their at-bat.

With one-out TJ Michel doubled deep to the right field gap to put runners at second and third.

A Padre outfield misplay on Ciccariello's fly ball brought home a run to give the Angels a 5-3 lead.

However as was the case in both games the Angels left runners stranded with the meat of their order at the plate as Jake Palm and Cam Morrow were retired, sandwiched around a Jack Chapin walk that had loaded the bases.

The Padres "escape" with the top of their order due up ended up being the pivotal sequence in the game and ultimately gave the franchise their break through championship.

A tip of the cap to previous coach Jonathan Gorski who put together the 14 and 15 year-old classes and some feeling of redemption from the 2018 World Series defeat to the same Angels.

The other prior Padres Managers that got to the Series and lost, Joe Appleyard '10 (eventually won as an assistant with White Sox '13) and Ed Weatherbee '13 and '15 can now sleep better knowing the Padres have finally join the hall of champions.

PADRES (8)- Marcotte 1-1, Marino 3-1, Gosdanian 3-1, Bartalini 2-0, Alberto 3-1, Aborn 3-2, Hansen 2-0, Roberts 2-1, Daggett 2-0, Anderson 2-0, Coulter 3-0, Speros 3-0. Totals 27-7

ANGELS (5) – Tighe 4-0, Michel 3-1, Ciccariello 3-2, Palm 3-0, Chapin 2-0, Cam Morrow 3-0, Wondolowski 3-1, Pucci 2-1, Koster 3-1, McGlinchey 2-0, Stuart 3-1, Cole Morrow 2-0. Totals 33-7

Padres 011 105 0 -8 Angels 120 110 0 -5

Doubles: Ciccariello, Michel

Angels: Palm (3), Ciccariello (2), Tighe (2), and Michel

Padres: Aborn (2), Marcotte (3), Marino (1), Bartalini (2) and Gosdanian

WP- Marino LP- Tighe SV- Bartalini